h1

Calvinism or Arminianism? Neither!

October 31, 2010

I think that it would be unbiblical to take a definite point in this argument to begin with. It would be trying to put God in a human-made box, whether I choose calvinism or arminianism. Many verses support this, others support that, and in the end – all we can do is to be confident that the Word is true, and leave the rest to God. He must be a paradox and impossible to understand. If I go all the way with calvinism I am basically saying that the sovereignity of God decides all, and no man is responsible for his own deeds – and that’s unbiblical. If I go all the way with arminianism I am basically saying that God sends salvation and then turns his back to the world and says “go figure that one out”. Which is also unbiblical. I think the full truth is impossible to understand with an earthly mind, and that it probably lies somewhere inbetween.

1 Samuel 15:11 – “It repenteth me that I have set up Saul to be king”. Same chapter verse 29 – “And also the Strength of Israel will not lie nor repent: for he is not a man, that he should repent.” – What can we learn of this paradox? Do not try to fully understand the nature of God!

What do you think?

One comment

  1. Who has known the mind of God?? You are so right on this one. Sometimes we actually think that we can figure out the God of all creation. It is not going to happen. I know what I need to know to live in Christ and let God fill me in on whatever else he feels I should know.



Leave a Reply

