h1

Gender roles

November 3, 2010
PinkBlueRI bought bottle brushes today. I was forced to choose between blue and pink. I hate that choice.

I mean… it’s either blue – which means that I succumb to society’s pressure that there are “boyish” things and “girlish” things. I hate the way kindergarten is trying to push my kids into those roles in any case. Or I choose pink which means that I am running against the stream just for spite. Which means that I might as well turn my pants inside out. I don’t want to succumb to society’s pressure. But neither do I want to run against the stream for spite. I want me to be me and I want my kids to be who they are for who they are. I want to run in the stream diagonally and in circles as God leads me, regardless what people think!

Leave a Reply

