h1

Books I want to read

June 14, 2011

I am also reading “50 books that changed the world” by Andrew Taylor. Once I’m done with that I’ll actually also want to read those books! But first I have a book on China’s History to read, and another one on the history of the financial market.

For every book I read I learn about 100 more I want to read. And after Sukkot I will resume my studies, and I don’t have much hope to get time for reading then. So I’m going to make this list of books that I want to read as a long-time goal for the future. These books I will make sure to have read before I die:

-The Bible – again and again and again

-The Illiade

-The Odysse

-History, by Herodotus

-Confucius

-The State, by Platon

-Odes by Horatius

-Geography by Ptolemaios

-The Koran

-Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer

-Machiavelli

-Atlas, by Mercator

-Don Quijote

-The Complete Works of Shakespeare

-Copernicus’ and Galileo Galilei’s banned books

-Goethe’s book of the sufferings of Werther

-The Wealth of Nations, by Adam Smith

-Common Sense, by Thomas Paine

-Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

-Karl Marx – the Communistic Manifest and The Captial

-Moby Dick

-On Liberty, by John Stuart Mill

-Protocol of the Elders of Zion

-The General Theory of Employment, Interest and Money, J.M. Keynes

-The Second Sex, Beuvoir

-Catcher in the Rye, Salinger

-Mao’s red book

-Thedor Herzl – “The Jewish State” and “Altneuland”

-Mein Kampf, by Adolf Hitler

-Some books that can deepen my knowledge of Talmud, of Hinduism and of Buddhism

-The Count of Monte Christo

-The Man with the Iron Mask

-Some more might be added as I continue to read the book about the books that changed the world.

-I also must learn to speak Akkadian – but I don’t have any ambition to learn cuneiform script.

 

Anything you think I might have missed? Iv’e already read 1984, Uncle Tom, The Three Musketeers and the Edda (Old Viking stories of mythical gods and heroes)

One comment

  1. Ok, now I also thought of three more books. Little women (I know from “Friends” that Beth dies), the Jungle Book and Gulliver’s Travels. I remember reading Gulliver in 5th grade and was disappointed that it wasn’t that silly children’s story that they’ve turned it into – it was an in-depth shrewd criticism on the society of 18th century Europe. I think I would benefit a lot more from reading it now.



Leave a Reply

