h1

The Source

June 14, 2011

I am currently reading “The Source” by Michener. Highly recommended. It describes the history of a fictional tell in northern Israel, from stone age all the way to Modern Israel. Through the Canaanites to Israel to Greeks, Romans, Byzantines, Muslims, Crusaders, Mamluks, Turks, etc etc… A commentary on Amazon.com says:

“I remember being completely engrossed as the centuries flew past, as conquering armies marched, as cities rose and fell, as blood flowed through the streets of Jerusalem, and as the Jews wandered through the Middle East and Europe. I also remember thinking that the Middle East had an incredible history that I needed to learn a lot more about.”

This books leaves its mark on you. I definitely got taste to learn more about the History of my homeland. How come I am not familiar with the crusader kings, or the mamluk sultans? Why haven’t I learned the names of the great rabbis of Safed, and why have I never studied the Muslim caliphs or the Spanish inquisition more closely?

Of course there is also a lot I don’t agree with in it, especially when it comes to the philosophical discussions of the differences between the religions, and the relations between Jews and Christians. Still, an amazing book!

Leave a Reply

