h1

Just hearing you breathe

July 11, 2011

You’re next to me in the bed. We just said goodnight and are about to fall asleep.

I hear you breathing. In and out. In and out.

That silent simple sound. So quiet. So soft. Yet it means so much.

It means that you are here, next to me. It means that we are falling asleep together. It means that we will wake up together. It means that we are spending our lives together. It means that we have made the choice to be together forever, whatever happens.

That sound of you breathing. In and out. In and out. I could lie here and listen to it for hours. Which I will. Some nights I drift off quickly. Other nights I will stay awake, just a little longer than you (or are you also awake, trying to fall asleep, just like me?)

Some nights I will open my eyes just to look at you when you lay there and breath.  In and out. In and out. I watch you, and my heart aches. Every breath makes my heart spin. I want to give you the world, I want to give you everything. I love you so much I feel like I’m going to explode.

8½ years of marriage, and I love you more and more for every day. I want to spend every single moment of my life with you. I want to grow old and wrinkly with you.

You and me. Together forever. I don’t ever want it to end. I love you more than life itself.

2 comments

  1. What an absolutely loving husband you are! You are indeed exemplifying the command for husbands to love their wives as Christ loves his church. Good for you. You will be blessed.

    I am praying always for the safety of your family!


  2. My husband and I just past our 35th wedding anniversary. We have ten children and, so far 8 grandchildren. Your post brought tears to my eyes. Circumstances around us are ever changing. Keep this heart and always remember this day, and you will have peace. Thank you for this post.



Leave a Reply

