h1

Gilad Shalit

October 19, 2011

Here are some of the Facebook updates I put out during the day yesterday when Gilad Shalit came home:

Welcome home, Gilad Shalit. So glad to have you back. It cost a heavy price.
Now, what will Israel do about all the elderly people who can’t see the light of the day because they are living on a minimum, and get no care, or the children with abusive parents? Does the government realize that these peoples’ lives are a living hell – exactly like Gilad Shalit’s life has been the last 6 years? And that the price to release these people is much lower than releasing 1,000 murderers? If we can release 1,000 murderers for one person, and accept the costs of security, intelligence, and terrorism it will cause us, then we can spend a few extra million shekels on welfare too!

‎”Despite his having been in captivity without communication with the outside world for more than five years, Egyptian media asked him difficult and loaded questions.” – Ok, this is just evil! You don’t do this to a poor kid! I just wanted to strangle that reporter! According an Israeli newspaper: “The interview was made in spite of Israeli attempts to prevent it. The reporter asked in English, and the translator translated to Hebrew. The first question was how he felt. He answered in Hebrew ‘I don’t feel very good’. The translator translated it as ‘I feel good’.”

Israel was ready to pay a very heavy price to get Gilad Shalit back home. Israel fought and struggled and did all it could, even when the enemy broke all the laws of the Geneva convention, and made ridiculous demands. Shalit did nothing but being at the wrong place at the wrong time, while the 1,000 Palestinian prisoners being released are all convicted murderers. Still, Israel was ready to do this, for one human life is worth and entire world.
This is the place to ask Sweden – what is going on with you prisoner, Dawit Isaak? He has been a prisoner since 2001, and you simply don’t care! Unlike Shalit, who did nothing, Isaak is in prison for being pro-democracy in a dictatorship. And you still don’t lift a finger. Just like you did with Wallenberg. Wallenberg, who needs to release him? Let the Soviets keep him in prison forever, he apparently deserves that since he saved 100,000 Jewish lives.
Israelis – don’t think that this price is something that “any country would pay”. They wouldn’t. Only we would.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gilad_Shalit
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dawit_Isaak
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raoul_Wallenberg

A Mother of a terrorism victim, whose murderer is being released just said “I am happy that my son’s murderer will be released. It is worth it if Gilad’s parents can finally hug him again – something that I’ll never be able to do with my son. What do I have to gain from the murderer sitting in jail?”

I, as an Israeli citizen, refuse to be a consumer of the news that intrude into Gilad Shalit’s life. We will not give the news channels any reason whatsoever to harass this boy under the excuse that “that’s what the public wants”. We are the public. And we refuse.

In this conflict over the Shalit deal I must put myself in two very difficult positions:
A) How would I feel if me or my kids are killed by one of the released terrorists? Or if someone kills my kids, and he is later released due to a similar future agreement?
B) How would I feel if one of my kids, when in army duty, is taken captive, and I know that Israel will not try to release him because the price is too high?
These are questions every Israeli parent must ask himself right now. I am happy to know that if any of my children, may God forbid, is taken captive, Israel will do all it can to bring them home. And I am ready to pay the price that murderers will go free. Hatred and revenge feelings of past wrongs will only make us bitter. If A) would, God forbid, happen, I would rather have the murderer released so that another parent would be able to hug his child, rather than being the cause of bereaving the other parent that joy.

 

Oh, and Psalm 60 – note the parts that I have bolded – amazing!

[1] O God, thou hast cast us off, thou hast scattered us, thou hast been displeased; O turn thyself to us again.
[2] Thou hast made the earth to tremble; thou hast broken it: heal the breaches thereof; for it shaketh.
[3] Thou hast shewed thy people hard things: thou hast made us to drink the wine of astonishment.
[4] Thou hast given a banner to them that fear thee, that it may be displayed because of the truth. Selah.
[5] That thy beloved may be delivered; save with thy right hand, and hear me.
[6] God hath spoken in his holiness; I will rejoice, I will divide Shechem, and mete out the valley of Succoth.
[7] Gilead is mine, and Manasseh is mine; Ephraim also is the strength of mine head; Judah is my lawgiver;
[8] Moab is my washpot; over Edom will I cast out my shoe: Philistia, triumph thou because of me.
[9] Who will bring me into the strong city? who will lead me into Edom?
[10] Wilt not thou, O God, which hadst cast us off? and thou, O God, which didst not go out with our armies?
[11] Give us help from trouble: for vain is the help of man.
[12] Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.

One comment

  1. Sigh! Praying without ceasing for Israel….



Leave a Reply

