h1

What will happen in 2012?

December 30, 2011

ImageWhat will happen? Will 2012 be totally new and different? What kind of exciting surprises does 2012 have in store for us? Well…

“The sun still rises, and it still goes down, going wearily back to where it must start all over again. The wind blows south, the wind blows north—round and round and back again. Every river flows into the sea, but the sea is not yet full. The water returns to where the rivers began, and starts all over again. Everything leads to weariness—a weariness too great for words. Our eyes can never see enough to be satisfied; our ears can never hear enough. What has happened before will happen again. What has been done before will be done again. There is nothing new in the whole world. “Look,” they say, “here is something new!” But no, it has all happened before, long before we were born. No one remembers what has happened in the past, and no one in days to come will remember what happens between now and then.” (Ecc 1:5-11)

While keeping this in mind, we must still agree that some new things did happen in 2011. What would we have said at last new year’s if anyone had said that by this time next year there will be no Mubarak, no Khaddafi, no Kim Jong Il and no Bin Laden?

There are a few things that will happen in 2012 for sure (almost sure, anyway). Then there are a few things that might or might not happen. Then there are a few things that we think won’t happen at all, but will totally surprise us.

 

Worldwide:

  • We might see a new US president. We might not. If we do he/she will almost definitelly be more pro-Israel than the current one. So for totally selfish motives I am going to hope that Obama goes. I don’t know if I would do the same if I were American.
  • We might see something happen in Syria. Then again, we might see him keep killing people and the world will keep not caring. What would be really absurd is what would happen is if Hamas starts another war. They are really doing all they can to kidnap more soldiers, and if they succeed that is an instant war. Why would that be absurd? Because then the world would scream against Israel once again. And keep ignoring Syria. And the world media’s rotten biased agenda would be much more obvious. But then again, it’s been obvious for a long time and no one seems to care.
  • We might see Iran go totally nuclear. We might see the US attack Iran. We might see Israel attack Iran again and again and again, but as always, it’ll always be a “mysterious” explosion or a computer virus. Our guys are awesome.
  • We might see Greece and Italy leave the eurozone. Or we might see them actually take responsibility and start take action against corruption and tax evasions in their countries, in order to stop living on the German’s money. Nah, who am I kidding.
  • We might see more democracies in the Middle East if Egypt and Iraq go in the right direction. Then again, we might see worse islamist regimes and more of Iran instead. It actually looks like it. We might see more democracy in Europe too is something will finally happen in Belarus. Or we might see less democracy if the Ukraine keep jailing political opponents.
  • Here in Israel, we might see haredis get off their butts and go to work, stop humiliating women, and serve in the army. Hah, who am I kidding. But we might see stricter measures against their gender-apartheid ways.
  • This is a long shot, but I am still hoping we will see some actual peace process with the Palestinians. Not the fake one that started in 1993 where we promise, they promise, we keep, they ignore, and the world gets mad at us. But maybe this year they will finally accept that we exist, and we will have normal neighborly relations. Again, who am I kidding. In any case I hope for expansion and building of all our settlements and outposts, whether it’s Jerusalem, Tel Aviv or the small towns in the West Bank, Galilee or Negev.
  • We will definitely NOT see Yeshua coming with the clouds this year. Because according to the Mayan calendar we’ll see the end of the world. And a lot of people have said he’ll come this year. But Yeshua said he’ll come when we least expect him. So whenever a person says that “this is the year he will come”, I always know for sure that that’s when he will NOT come!
 

Personal:

  • During this year I will love my wife more and more for every day, just as I have the past 9 years. She is awesome. And I will keep telling her I love her at least once every day, as I have since summer 2001. More than 10 years of an unbroken chain. We have an awesome marriage, and during this year we will make it more awesome.
  • Me and my wife will both turn 30 this year. Na, not very scary. Not shaky, no crisis. Maybe finally people will take me seriously. I will start wearing more buttoned shirts and more black pants and less jeans. Except during stock count. Maybe I’ll get a few more gray hairs too. I have a few, barely noticeable. The Bible calls it a crown.
  • My awesome grandfather might live another year. Then again, he might not. He just turned 98. I am his only relative in Israel, so whenever it happens I’ll have a funeral and lots of stuff to organize. I know, horrible thoughts, but some realism. If he lives 2012 out and keeps going strong during 2013 it will be time to organize his 100th birthday party. I’d much rather organize that than a funeral. But you never know.
  • Also praying for a dear friend of ours that her problems will be sorted out this year. You know who you are. Some people are just going through a living hell that never seems to stop.
  • The homeschooling of my children will keep going. They are making great progress and learning a lot, and both me and my wife are learning a lot in the process. We’re having a lot of fun. It’s so wonderful to have them home at all times, and they have developed socially in incredible ways. We’ll have a summer break, and then the two big ones will start 2nd and 3rd grade. And the little one will start pre-K.
 
 
Work and Studies and Spiritual:
 
  • My work will probably change somewhat. My boss has been talking about renovations in my office, hiring new people, etc. Hopefully, with the new people, I might be able to get rid of some of the more monotone tasks that are holding me back from being able to take on new and exciting projects. Plus, a renovated office must mean better and nicer work environment.
  • My studies will keep going. I’ll finish international monetary economy and general math in February, I’ll study international fiscal economy during the spring, and then Econometric towards the fall. Degree in Economy in 2016 according to the plan. Once I’m done with that I’ll start writing my book. I have no idea what I want to write, but I must write a book.
  • My personal spiritual life must take a leap this year. I can’t keep going like this. I must live inside the Bible. My prayer life must make God the most real person in my daily life. The problem is that I read a chapter, and I forget it the second after. I try to pray, and I keep falling asleep. How do I get out of this?

Anyway. Happy new 2012. I normally don’t celebrate pagan holidays, and new years is no exception. But this one I acknowledge, because I count this way. We all count this way.

3 comments

  1. worthy to think about!!! I too have some ideas for the year to come, Blessings!!


  2. I like your blog!!, good stuff!! We should all be praying about 2012, not becasue the Mayan Stuff, but because there are some real wrold changes going on, that will effect us all…esepcailly in the Middle east.!!!

    http://www.wayfarersquest-rsctt.blogspot.com

    http://www.wayfarersquest.com


  3. In addition, I see not necessarily for 2012 specific, but close. Assad will go, Yemen, Qatar, and the others in the arab spring will shfit to the Islamists..Eurpoean finances will be revealed as even more desperate than priorly acknowledged. As a conglomerate of Islamists nations arise tor form a New Common market with even more power than OPEC. Iran will not attack Israel enmasse, for now, as much as they will use nukes to blackmail, and neuter Saudi Arabia..so that they can become the sole power of Middle East politics. We will see how islamists have infiltrated Central and South America, with a design to distract the US.
    http://www.wayfarersquest-rsctt.blogspot.com

    http://www.wayfaresquest.com



Leave a Reply

