h1

I’m apparently 30… what now ?

March 16, 2012

As my 30th birthday is drawing  to a close, I’m trying to figure out if I am where I wanted to be at this age. Have I realised my goals?

I’ve come to the conclusion – does it even matter??

Because really – any thoughts, hopes and ambitions I’ve ever had were made by an earlier me. A younger me. A less important me. Less important because he doesn’t exist anymore.

The ultimate goal for my life has only ever been to glorify God in all I do and say. So any thoughts on where I am and where I want to be for my own personal selfish reasons is of less importance.

I am fairly happy with most of my life right now. I have a gorgeous wife that I love more and more for every day. I have four amazing kids. I am only four years away from a BA in Economy, and I have a job that I love. I also have a great congregation. Compared to my 20th birthday when I didn’t have any of the above (except the congregation), I’d say I’ve had a pretty good 20-decade.

Do I have it all? No, not really. There are still a number of areas where I want to see an improvement during the coming 10 years.

Spiritually I want to be stronger. I need more from Him. I’ve built a long term plan for 10 years to get deeper into the Bible. Much deeper. I want to be able to get a Bible verse out of my sleeve for any unexpected occasion or event. I want to be able to easily answer people’s questions (especially my kids who will become teenagers during these coming years). I want a spiritual life from which I can easily “pick” anything I might need for a sermon or teaching. I want a deeper prayerlife. I want to know Him more and more.

Family-wise I must invest these coming years in becoming a better husband and father. I can think of a number of shortcomings that need to be dealt with. Ditto when it comes to work.

I guess this is the type of evaluation one should do continuously… but it all becomes so much more evident on days like these…

Me… 30… it’s almost as if I’m a grownup…

2 comments

  1. It seems that you certianlly have your head on straight. I am sure that with that alone going for you, and an appreciation for what you do have, you will go far. Blessings!
    http://www.wayfarersquest-rsctt.blogspot.com/


  2. Happy birthday!



Leave a Reply

